Active VS Not Active
In your Site Settings on the Dashboard, you will see two options at the bottom: Active and Not Active
These settings refer to the Status of your Live site.
If the site is set as "Active" this means you have a live site that can be viewed by anyone.
If the site is set as "Not Active" this means your site is offline, and if someone were to visit your site's URL they would receive an error message.
As soon as you click "Save" after making a change from Active to Not Active, your site will be taken down.